Buddhist Meditation Society
Joondalup - Perth - Western Australia

    The following guidelines are laid out by the Lord Buddha in order to bring happiness, peace and success in
    one's life. It is based on the principle of doing no harm to oneself and to others.

    In Buddhism, it is not said that one must not do things. It only suggests one to refrain  from doing what is not beneficial for
    oneself and for others.

    Refraining comes from understanding and not from suppression. It comes from the understanding of the causes and effects
    of our actions in body, speech or mind. In Buddhism, it is known as Kamma. Kamma is the actions that we do deliberately
    and intentionally and the fruits that bear from these actions. Good action is followed by good fruits which is favourable to our
    happiness and success. Bad action is followed by misery and unhappiness in life. Therefore, deeply understanding the law of
    causes and effects (Kamma), enables us to follow these Precepts quite easily. Accordingly, refraining comes form
    understanding the laws of life.

    Five Precepts:

    1. I undertake the precept to refrain from killing
    2. I undertake the precept to refrain from taking what is not given
    3. I undertake the precept to refrain from sexual misconduct
    4. I undertake the precept to refrain from speaking what is not the truth (lies)
    5. I undertake the precept to refrain from taking intoxicating drinks
    And drugs (alcohol, non-medicinal drugs, smoking and inhaling

    Note: Buddhism is a process of gradual developments. One is not expected to be able to follow these guidelines overnight.
    The development comes from gaining wisdom and gradually cultivating oneself to be able to follow these precepts.

    For example, some people like drinking a glass of wine or two socially. It is hard from them to give up straight away. If one
    usually drink a bottle now, try and drink only two thirds of it. Then gradually drink only half. In a few months or a year, one will
    be able to drink only a glass or two. As wisdom develops, one will eventually be able to give it up by oneself. No one will have
    to encourage them.

    Ten Perfections (Paramis)

    1. Dana - Generosity and contribution in many ways for the welfare of others.
    2. Sila - Development of wholesome moral conduct.
    3. Nekkhamma - Renunciation of sensual pleasures to maintain contentment.
    4. Panna - Development of understanding to gain wisdom.
    5. Viriya - Cultivation of physical & mental energy to maintain purity & service.
    6. Khanti - Patience, non-violence and peaceful attitudes.
    7. Sacca - Truthfulness and sincerity.
    8. Adhitthana - Resolution. Determination or development of will power.
    9. Metta - Radiation of loving-kindness or goodwill.
    10. Upekkha - Equanimity, impartiality or balanced mind.

    Things Buddhist avoid:

    Ten Kinds of Evil Actions

    Three Evil Actions by Body
    -        killing
    -        Stealing
    -        Sexual Misconduct

    Four Evil actions by Speech
    -        Lying
    -        Slandering
    -        Harsh Speech
    -        Frivolous talk

    Three Evil Actions by Mind
    -        Covetousness: Jealously eager for the possession of the property of another person.
    -        Ill-Will
    -        Wrong View

    Wrong View
    -        Belief that intentional actions (kamma), good or bad, do not bear any retribution.
    -        View that things are not changing and they are permanent.
    -        Believe in the "Ego"
    -        Denial of one's obligation towards ones' mother and father.
    -        Denial of efficacy of dana.
    -        Denial of efficacy of generosity.